Go To Bottom

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: trying to run the new 5870
Ads
Sponsor
*****



Your Ad Here

nunieboy
Junior Member
**




Posts: 64
Deleted: 4
Registered: 12-1-2008
Reputation: 0
Rate: +
Points ($): 285

Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 11-4-2009 at 05:20 PM Reply With Quote
trying to run the new 5870



Do you guys think my old core 2 duo e6750 will bottle neck the new ati 5870?

i'm running the old processor at 3.8 ghz and i have a 500w power supply
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member nunieboy's Aim Send Points ($)
onisagi
Junior Member
**




Posts: 18
Deleted: 0
Registered: 10-12-2006
Reputation: 0
Rate: +
Points ($): 60

Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 11-4-2009 at 11:10 PM Reply With Quote


Depends on your monitor resolution, and how many monitors. Even at 1080 resolutions, you shouldn't have to worry about bottlenecking your card. 5870 will probably hardly break a sweat, unless of course if you're playing maxed settings on a poorly coded game.

The important thing isnt bottlenecking, but whether you have playable minimum frames.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member Send Points ($)
nunieboy
Junior Member
**




Posts: 64
Deleted: 4
Registered: 12-1-2008
Reputation: 0
Rate: +
Points ($): 285

Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 11-4-2009 at 11:17 PM Reply With Quote


well the reason i even considered buying this monster is to play a constant 60 on rts games like CoH WIC and DoWII. right now i have a gtx260 core 216 and running it at 1440x900, and it frames do drop with lots of detail. i want it running constant 60 no matter wat happens
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member nunieboy's Aim Send Points ($)
nunieboy
Junior Member
**




Posts: 64
Deleted: 4
Registered: 12-1-2008
Reputation: 0
Rate: +
Points ($): 285

Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 11-4-2009 at 11:19 PM Reply With Quote


sorry for bad grammar. LOL im even considering being a english major. but im too lazy to fix it><
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member nunieboy's Aim Send Points ($)
SR20DET
Member
***




Posts: 101
Deleted: 2
Registered: 12-14-2004
Location: California
Reputation: 0
Rate: +
Points ($): 205

Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 1-13-2010 at 05:07 AM Reply With Quote


your CPU may be a bottleneck in some games that are quad core optimized, but other than that, it shouldn't be a problem.

that card is overkill for your monitor's resolution. it would have probably been better for you to upgrade to a 1920 x 1200 resolution monitor before getting a 5870. a Core 2 Quad processor would be a nice upgrade as well when paired up with the 5870.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member Send Points ($)
Digg! Post new thread Poll:


Go To Top

Powered by XMB
Developed By Aventure Media & The XMB Group © 2002-2006
[queries: 18]