Go To Bottom

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: Windows Vista help
Ads
Sponsor
*****



Your Ad Here

pr3ciouzboi
Member
***


Avatar


Posts: 356
Deleted: 9
Registered: 10-19-2006
Reputation: 6
Rate: +
Points ($): 4596

Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 6-30-2010 at 06:10 PM Reply With Quote
Windows Vista help



Hi, I don't know if I am posting this post in the right section but this is the closest one I could find.

So what happened is, computer slowed down, due to whatever reason. most likely a virus. Even after running Antivirus programs, its still slow. So a reformatting the hard drive is a must. Unfortunately, no recovery disk was created when purchased.

now, my question is, what people are selling out there are the "upgrade" version of vista (any). that is usually going from xp up to vista. will it still work if I go buy the upgrade version trying to reformat my computer with that or better say fresh install it onto the hard drive?

Please Help

I am aware that I will have to manually find the drivers it again after using that disc (if it should work) but just wanted to know whether any of you have gone through something similar like this before.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member Send Points ($)
PcReaperX23
Senior Member
****




Posts: 1150
Deleted: 0
Registered: 11-26-2004
Location: USA
Reputation: 5
Rate: +
Points ($): 981

Member Is Offline

Mood: Fishbowl

[*] posted on 6-30-2010 at 07:05 PM Reply With Quote


You're trying to go from XP to Vista? Get 7 instead. I would keep the XP and just format the computer IMO.



http://fp.profiles.us.playstation.com/playstation/psn/pid/PcFish.png
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member Send Points ($)
shizi
sc2
******




Posts: 595
Deleted: 2
Registered: 11-4-2005
Location: CA
Reputation: 2
Rate: +
Points ($): 1105

Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 6-30-2010 at 08:21 PM Reply With Quote


might as well buy win7.. if you're a student you can get it for 30$
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member Send Points ($)
pr3ciouzboi
Member
***


Avatar


Posts: 356
Deleted: 9
Registered: 10-19-2006
Reputation: 6
Rate: +
Points ($): 4596

Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 6-30-2010 at 10:06 PM Reply With Quote


well the problem is finding the drivers. I can only find the drivers for vista and not windows 7 or even XP which was my primary focus in the beginning.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member Send Points ($)
PcReaperX23
Senior Member
****




Posts: 1150
Deleted: 0
Registered: 11-26-2004
Location: USA
Reputation: 5
Rate: +
Points ($): 981

Member Is Offline

Mood: Fishbowl

[*] posted on 6-30-2010 at 10:18 PM Reply With Quote


Quote:
Originally posted by pr3ciouzboi
well the problem is finding the drivers. I can only find the drivers for vista and not windows 7 or even XP which was my primary focus in the beginning.


that's why I love Windows 7. It found all the drivers for me via windows update.




http://fp.profiles.us.playstation.com/playstation/psn/pid/PcFish.png
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member Send Points ($)
Byakuya
[Banned]
*****


Avatar


Posts: 1985
Deleted: 8
Registered: 11-4-2004
Reputation: 47 Reputation: 47
Rate: +
Points ($): 6476

Member Is Offline

Mood: Easy Breezy

[*] posted on 6-30-2010 at 10:55 PM Reply With Quote


Get Windows 7
Get some firewalls and virus scans -> wrap your junk if ur gonna dl porn




http://img392.imageshack.us/img392/1600/shoujomah2dy.jpg
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member Send Points ($)
pr3ciouzboi
Member
***


Avatar


Posts: 356
Deleted: 9
Registered: 10-19-2006
Reputation: 6
Rate: +
Points ($): 4596

Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 6-30-2010 at 11:06 PM Reply With Quote


how certain is it that windows 7 will find ALL the necessary drivers?

PC isn't mine. I don't want to advise the person I am fixing this computer for a wrong suggestion and the final result won't even really work :%
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member Send Points ($)
howard22
Living internationally
***


Avatar


Posts: 406
Deleted: 3
Registered: 3-24-2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Reputation: 11 Reputation: 11
Rate: +
Points ($): 3040

Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 7-1-2010 at 01:23 AM Reply With Quote


Windows 7 only won't find drivers unless you're using REALLY, REALLY OLD hardware.
It was even able to find a driver for my Chinese writing pad, which is an ancient piece of hardware~

your chances of finding all drivers are very high!




Egalitarianism is merely an illusion.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member Send Points ($)
phatphucker
Senior Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 760
Deleted: 3
Registered: 8-23-2003
Reputation: 41 Reputation: 41
Rate: +
Points ($): 1783

Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 7-1-2010 at 06:16 AM Reply With Quote


honestly you're better off with windows xp instead of vista. vista is a ugly pig. that's why ms dumped it pretty fast. win 7 is great, you can get away with using the vista drivers in win 7 if there isn't dedicated drivers.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member Send Points ($)
IllusionX
Yaris Owner
*******


Avatar


Posts: 4642
Deleted: 0
Registered: 8-4-2003
Location: Montreal, QC
Reputation: 12 Reputation: 12
Rate: +
Points ($): 11715

Member Is Offline

Mood: $_$

[*] posted on 7-1-2010 at 08:46 AM Reply With Quote


pr3ciouzboi: brand/model of the pc??

if it is a toshiba, hold 0 (zero) at power up... it will launch the recovery program.

and by the way.. if no windows7 drivers are listed... most probably that all hardware are working out of the box already.




Toyota Yaris Sedan w/ Aero Package
View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member IllusionX's Aim IllusionX's ICQ status This User Has MSN Messenger IllusionX's Yahoo Send Points ($)
pr3ciouzboi
Member
***


Avatar


Posts: 356
Deleted: 9
Registered: 10-19-2006
Reputation: 6
Rate: +
Points ($): 4596

Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 7-1-2010 at 07:56 PM Reply With Quote


phat, yeh I tried to downgrade the pc to xp but there are not drivers for it available

illusion, i don't really know. its not mine, only thing I know, is the brand which is compaq
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member Send Points ($)
phatphucker
Senior Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 760
Deleted: 3
Registered: 8-23-2003
Reputation: 41 Reputation: 41
Rate: +
Points ($): 1783

Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 7-2-2010 at 12:42 AM Reply With Quote


1. Power on the computer
2. Press F10 repeatedly when you see the HP or Compaq logo.
2. When the recovery screen appears, press Next and then Yes to perform a non-destructive recovery.
3. To perform a destructive recovery, click Advanced and then Yes.
4. After the recovery is finished, the laptop will reboot.

you may need to contact hp for the recovery cds... or go down to the local bestbuy and ask them to make you a set. though i forget how much they charge for that.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member Send Points ($)
pr3ciouzboi
Member
***


Avatar


Posts: 356
Deleted: 9
Registered: 10-19-2006
Reputation: 6
Rate: +
Points ($): 4596

Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 7-2-2010 at 10:26 PM Reply With Quote


so phat, do you know what that destructive recovery does?

just wondering, cause, if I do need the recovery disk, then why not do a regular recovery while do a destructive one.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member Send Points ($)
phatphucker
Senior Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 760
Deleted: 3
Registered: 8-23-2003
Reputation: 41 Reputation: 41
Rate: +
Points ($): 1783

Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 7-2-2010 at 11:40 PM Reply With Quote


non-destructive keeps the user files. destructive blows everything away.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member Send Points ($)
pr3ciouzboi
Member
***


Avatar


Posts: 356
Deleted: 9
Registered: 10-19-2006
Reputation: 6
Rate: +
Points ($): 4596

Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 7-3-2010 at 12:34 AM Reply With Quote


so can that destructive method also be used to somewhat wipe clean the computer from viruses? any ideas?
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member Send Points ($)
phatphucker
Senior Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 760
Deleted: 3
Registered: 8-23-2003
Reputation: 41 Reputation: 41
Rate: +
Points ($): 1783

Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 7-3-2010 at 02:12 PM Reply With Quote


for sure.

good things to have when you get things up and running.

microsoft home security essentials.
malwarebytes anti-malware
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member Send Points ($)
Digg! Post new thread Poll:


Go To Top

Powered by XMB
Developed By Aventure Media & The XMB Group © 2002-2006
[queries: 18]