Go To Bottom

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: Getting a MTM suit in Hong Kong(Review)
Ads
Sponsor

Your Ad Here

h2oooo

Deleted: 3
Rate: +
Points ($): 1667

Mood: homework fiend

[*] posted on 3-6-2013 at 10:02 PM Reply With Quote
Getting a MTM suit in Hong Kong(Review)

Hey Outie, here's my contribution in trying to liven up the forum.

Since my sister's wedding is coming up, I decided to get a three piece/ four piece suit made. A three piece suit with an extra pair of pants. Navy blue, peak lapels, slim cutting, side vents etc. Basically a staple suit that I can wear to formal events (aka the wedding) and at work. The only special request I had was for the pants to be rather slim, but with a single pleat. I sit on my ass a lot at work and pleats are just far more comfortable.

However, being a student, I cannot afford a tailored suit at some of the more established Styleforum places. A Timeless tailor (http://www.atimeless.com/en/) had a Groupon promotion going on, but there was no customization available for their deal. A four piece suit ordered through their normal channel would cost about 8000 HKD, far above my budget.

I headed over to TST to check out cheaper options. My friend had ordered shirts from some shops before at 67 Mody Road (Peninsuala Center), with the price being 399 HKD for 3. there were about 10-20 different tailor shops here, so asking for prices was a bit overwhelming. The sales people were generally quite well mannered, but determined to do business. I was quoted prices for a 4 piece suit (in the same cloth) ranging from 2400 HKD to 7000 HKD. Identifying myself as a student generally helped lower prices a bit, whereas identifying myself as a Canadian bumped up the prices as well.